October 5, 2022


Why Wait Grab

Ross Chastain Wins At Talladega After Frantic Final Lap

Ross Chastain Wins At Talladega After Frantic Final Lap


Image for article titled Ross Chastain Wins At Talladega After Frantic Final Lap

Image: Sean Gardner (Getty Images)

The NASCAR Cup Series visited Talladega Superspeedway for the very first time this time. And even though the Next Gen auto may well have changed a handful of factors, racing at NASCAR’s greatest monitor is nonetheless all about the finish. Every thing else about functioning all-around the 2.66-mile oval is centered on finding up to the entrance of the area and making ready for the complete.

The first phase ended less than caution with 23XI’s now-perennial superspeedway entrance-runner Bubba Wallace main. The 2nd phase concluded with the field attempting to chase down a freight practice of all four Hendrick Motorsports cars led by William Byron. Byron received the phase, adopted by Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson.

The most important incident of the working day was not a correct Huge A single, but it even now associated quite a few vehicles. On a restart all through the second phase, the automobiles at the entrance on the exterior lane bunched up, ensuing in Bubba Wallace sending Penske’s Joey Logano into the outside the house wall. Logano rebounded back again down the keep track of and collected at least seven other autos.

Following the remaining spherical of pit stops, Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin and Kyle Larson led the race in a one-file line. Larson took command at the entrance by swinging close to the outside as Hamlin light and inevitably ran out of gasoline. It appeared that Byron and Elliott would pull a 2nd line up to the front to reconnect with the Hendrick teammate like in the second stage, but Petty GMS’ Erik Jones jumped out in entrance of the second line.

Jones would pull down in front of Larson and finally led the discipline on the run to the checkered flag. Larson pulled out of line to try out and gain the race, putting both 23XI vehicles in the wall in the procedure. Jones moved up to block Larson’s operate, opening the door for Trackhouse’s Ross Chastain to have a very clear route to the complete line. Chastain received the GEICO 500 by a tenth-of-a-second in excess of Richard Childress Racing’s Austin Dillon, the watermelon farmer’s next earn of the period.

Race Results – Best 10

  1. Ross Chastain
  2. Austin Dillon
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Erik Jones
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Michael McDowell
  9. Alex Bowman
  10. Kevin Harvick

The NASCAR Cup Sequence will return following week at the just lately renamed Dover Motor Speedway.


Resource backlink